Alejandra Pizarnik – Ways of the Mirror

I

& above all to gaze with innocence. As if nothing were to happen, which is true.

II

But it’s you I want to gaze at til your face recedes from my fear like a bird on the sharp edge of the night.

III

Like a girl in the pink chalk on a very old wall suddenly erased by the rain.

IV

Like a flower opens up & reveals the heart it doesn’t have.

V

All the gestures of my body & of my voice to turn me into the offering, the bough that the wind abandons in the doorway.

VI

Cover the memory of your face with the mask of who you’ll be & spook the girl that you were.

VII

The night of the two dispersed with the fog. It’s the time of the year for cold foods.

VIII

& the thirst, my memory is of the thirst, I below, at the bottom, in the well, was drinking, I recollect.

IX

To fall like a wounded animal in the place that was going to be for revelations.

X

Like someone who doesn’t want the thing, not any thing. Mouth sewn shut. Eyelids sewn shut. I forgot. Inside the wind. All closed up & the wind inside.

XI

In the black sun of the silence the words were sizzling.

XII

But the silence is certain. That’s why I write. I am alone & I write. No, I’m not alone. There’s someone here who trembles.

XIII

Even if I say sun & moon & stars I refer to things that happen to me.
& what did I want?
I wanted a perfect silence.
That’s why I speak.

XIV

Night is in the shape of a wolf’s howl.

XV

Delicacy of getting lost in the augured image. I got up from my cadaver, went in search of who I am. Oh my pilgrim, I’ve gone towards her who sleeps in a country against the wind.

XVI

My endless fall to my endless fall where no one awaited me so as I saw who was awaiting me I didn’t see anything else but my myself.

XVII

Something was falling in the silence. My last word was I but I was referring to the luminous dawn.

XVIII

Yellow flowers constellate a circle of blue earth. The water ripples full of wind.

XIX

Illumination of the day, yellow birds in the morning. One hand unties the fog, one hand pulls the hair of a hanged woman who doesn’t stop going through the mirror. To return to the  memory of the body, I must return to my bones in pain, must comprehend what my voice is saying.

CAMINOS DEL ESPEJO

I

Y sobre todo mirar con inocencia. Como si no pasar nada, lo cual es cierto.

II

Pero a ti quiero mirarte hasta que tu rostro se aleje de mi miedo como un pájaro del borde filoso de la noche.

III

Como una niña de tiza rosada en un muro muy viejo súbitamente borrada por la lluvia.

IV

Como cuando se abre una flor y revela el corazón que no tiene.

V

Todos los gestos de mi cuerpo y de mi voz para hacer de mí la ofrenda, el ramo que abandona el viento en el umbral.

VI

Cubre la memoria de tu cara con la máscara de la que serás y asusta a la niña que fuiste.

VII

La noche de los dos se dispersó con la niebla. Es la estación de los alimentos fríos.

VIII

Y la sed, mi memoria es de la sed, yo abajo, en el fondo, en el pozo, yo bebía, recuerdo.

IX

Caer como un animal herido en el lugar que iba a ser de revelaciones.

X

Como quien no quiere la cosa. Ninguna cosa. Boca cosida. Párpados cosidos. Me olvidé. Adentro el viento. Todo cerrado y el viento adentro.

XI

Al negro sol del silencio las palabras se doraban.

XII

Pero el silencio es cierto. Por eso escribo. Estoy sola y escribo. No, no estoy sola. Hay alguien aquí que tiembla.

XIII

Aun si digo sol y luna y estrella me refiero a cosas que me suceden.
¿Y qué deseaba yo?
Deseaba un silencio perfecto.
Por eso hablo.

XIV

La noche tiene la forma de un grito de lobo.

XV

Delicia de perderse en la imagen presentida. Yo me levanté de mi cadáver, yo fui en busca de quien soy. Peregrina de mí, he ido hacia la que duerme en un país al viento.

XVI

Mi caída sin fin a mi caída sin fin en donde nadie me aguardó pues al mirar quién me aguardaba no vi otra cosa que a mí misma.

XVII

Algo caía en el silencio. Mi última palabra fue yo pero me refería al alba luminosa.

XVIII

Flores amarillas constelan un círculo de tierra azul. El agua tiembla llena de viento.

XIX

Deslumbramiento del día, pájaros amarillos en la mañana. Una mano desata tinieblas, una mano arrastra la cabellera de una ahogada que no cesa de pasar por el espejo. Volver a la memoria del cuerpo, he de volver a mis huesos en duelo, he de comprender lo que dice mi voz.

This entry was posted in Alejandra Pizarnik, Trans. from Spanish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alejandra Pizarnik – Ways of the Mirror

  1. macelo Kar says:

    La piedra que cargamos…

Leave a Reply

