Alejandra Pizarnik – Curses

& the ladies dressed in red for my pain & with my pain inhaled in my breath, crouching like fetuses of scorpions in the innermost side of my nape, the mothers in red suck from me the only warmth I emit with my heart which I could barely ever beat, from me who always had to learn on my own how to drink & eat & breath, & me who no one taught or will teach to cry & even those great ladies stuck to the interlining of my respiration with reddish drool & floating veils in blood, my blood, mine alone, which I will mind & now they come to drink from me after having killed the king who floats in the river & moves his eyes & smiles but is dead & when one is dead, dead one is no matter how much one smiles & the great, the tragic ladies in red have killed the one who goes down to the river & I stay put like a hostage in perpetual possession.

SORTILEGIOS

Y las damas vestidas de rojo para mi dolor y con mi dolor insumidas en mi soplo, agazapadas como fetos de escorpiones en el lado más interno de mi nuca, las madres de rojo que me aspiran el único calor que me doy con mi corazón que apenas pudo nunca latir, a mi que siempre tuve que aprender sola cómo se hace para beber y comer y respirar y a mí que nadie me enseñó a llorar y nadie me enseñará ni siquiera las grandes damas adheridas a la entretela de mi respiración con babas rojizas y velos flotantes de sangre, mi sangre, la mía sola, la que yo me procuré y ahora vienen a beber de mí luego de haber matado al rey que flota en el río y mueve los ojos y sonríe pero está muerto y cuando alguien está muerto, muerto está por más que sonría y las grandes, las trágicas damas de rojo han matado al que se va al río abajo y yo me quedo como rehén en perpetua posesión.

This entry was posted in Alejandra Pizarnik, Trans. from Spanish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

