Alejandra PIzarnik – The Word of the Desire

THE WORD OF THE DESIRE

This spectral texture of the darkness, this melody of bones, this breath of diverse silences, this going down feet first, this dark, dark gallery, this sinking without sinking.

What am I saying? It’s dark & I want to go in. I don’t know what else to say. (I don’t want to say, I want to go in.) The pain of the bones, languages broken by shovels, to rebuild the diagram of unreality little by little.

Possessions I don’t have (this is certain; at last something certain). Then a melody. It’s a weeping melody, a lilac light, an imminence without a final destination. I see the melody. Presence of orange light. Without your gaze I’m not going to know how to live, this too is certain. I give rise to you, breath life back into you. & she told me she was leaving with the wind & went from house to house asking if I was there.

I walk past naked with a taper in hand, cold castle, garden of delicacies. Solitude is not standing on the pier, in the early dawn, looking at the water with eagerness. Solitude is inability to say it because of the inability to surround it because of the inability to give it a face because of the inability to make it synonymous with a landscape. Solitude would be this broken melody of my phrases.

LA PALABRA DEL DESEO

Esta espectral textura de la oscuridad, esta melodía en los huesos, este soplo de silencios diversos, este ir abajo por abajo, esta galería oscura, este hundirse sin hundirse.

¿Qué estoy diciendo? Está oscuro y quiero entrar. No sé qué más decir. (Yo no quiero decir, yo quiero entrar). El dolor de los huesos, el lenguaje roto a palabras, poco a poco reconstituir el diafragma de la irrealidad.

Posesiones no tengo (esto es seguro; al final algo seguro). Luego una melodía. Es una melodía plañidera, una luz lila, una inminencia sin destinatario. Veo la melodía. Presencia de una luz anaranjada. Sin tu mirada no voy a saber vivir, también esto es seguro. Te suscito, te resucito. Y me dijo que saliera al viento y fuera de casa en casa preguntando si estaba.

Paso desnuda con un cirio en la mano, castillo frío, jardín de las delicias. La soledad no es estar parada en el muelle, a la madrugada, mirando el agua con avidez. La soledad es no poder decirla por no poder circuncidarla por no poder darle un rostro por no poder hacerla sinónimo de un paisaje. La soledad sería esta melodía rota de mis frases.

This entry was posted in Alejandra Pizarnik, Trans. from Spanish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

